The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services , Division of Licensing, licenses and regulates the private security industry in accordance with Chapter 493, Florida Statutes. Security officers and security agencies serve in positions of trust. Untrained and unlicensed persons or businesses, or persons not of good moral character are a threat to the public safety and welfare. The private security industry is regulated to ensure the interests of the public are adequately served and protected.
The information & FAQs below have been made available to inform prospective security officers and Florida citizens about licensing requirements.
Below is a list of the commonly asked questions regarding a "D" security office license as required by the Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing. They are also shown on the DOL's website.
Before applying for a class "D" (unarmed) security officer license,MOST applicants must successfully complete a total of 40 hours of training with a licensed security officer school and training facility.
ALERT works with and refers to several security schools around Florida. In specific,
ALERT is proud to work with Invictus security school, Invictus currently offers the security training classes in Palm Beach, Melbourne & Ft. Lauderdale. More information can be found in the "SECURITY SCHOOL" section of the CAREERS tab above, or at Invictus Security Academy website. In addition to their security academy, Invictus offers coursework for:
ALERT is proud to work with American Directives Security Training school. American Directives currently offers "D" license classes in both Sarasota & Bonita Springs. More information can be found in the "SECURITY SCHOOL" section of the CAREERS tab above, or at American Directives website.
Upon successful completion of your "D" license training, the next step is to apply for your license through the Division of Licensing:
When the application is received, the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal Bureau of Investigation perform a criminal history record check to determine if the applicant has a criminal history which would disqualify him or her from licensure.
Licenses issued to individuals (including agency managers) and to schools/training facilities under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, are valid for 2 years.
Agency and agency branch office licenses issued under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, are valid for a period of 3 years.
Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses issued under the authority of Section 790.06, Florida Statutes, are valid for a period of 5 years.
Depending on the location from which your application is mailed, it usually takes 7-10 days to reach the Division of Licensing. Normally, it requires about 10 business days after your application is received by the Division for your information to be entered into our database. Please take this into consideration before you check on-line (FS493 applicants only) or call. If you are individual or an agency seeking to provide private investigative services, security services, or recovery services, you can perform an online search to check the status of your application.
Individual and Agency Licensees Regulated under FS493 A license issued to an individual or agency regulated by Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, can be renewed if it has not been expired for more than three months. A late fee equal to the amount of the license fee is required in addition to the renewal license fee. If the license has been expired for longer than three months, the former licensee must re-apply for a new license.
The Division of Licensing website contains full details on licensure and the FAQs referenced above.
Contact ALERT with questions by email: firstname.lastname@example.org